This Week in...

My week in Vita – 2

This week I have been pretty much using my PS Vita non stop. There are many reasons for this. Firstly, I finally have money to spend on games! and secondly one of the new games I’m playing is free! So you’ll be happy to hear that I completed my first play through of Spyro 2: Riptos Rage (Gateway to Glimmer in the UK originally) on my Vita. A firm favourite from my youth and PS 1 playing days, the game is exactly how I remembered it. Charming, Colourful and just plain fun! So to fill the void that finishing Spyro has left, I have downloaded 3 new games this week and they are all awesome.

 

The first game is called Deathmatch Village. It is in a 2D platformer style, and though the animations are nothing special, the game fills the Vita screen perfectly. I hadn’t heard anything about this game, but what drew me to it was the fact it was based around online play and it was FREE. Yes, Free! To sum up this game, you are a hillbilly farmer, who has lost his pigs. The aim of the game is  to find the pigs and deposit them at the marked trailers around the map.  The catch is, there are other players also trying to get the pigs, so you have to fight your way through them. It is fantastic online, as at the moment there is a lot of online activity (I would encourage you to download it before the number of people playing it begins to fade) As with most online “deathmatch” style games, you can customise your character and load outs to make them more powerful. There is a catch here however. Your starting gun (A feeble Shotgun) is okay, but when you are thrown into a random match with experienced players, you will find yourself constantly being slaughtered by machine gun wielding hillbillys. You pay for upgrades using the currency you earn in game by killing people, collecting pigs etc, but what I have noticed is that all the half decent guns are very expensive, and currency earning seems to be quite slow. I have not seen whether there is an option to pay for loadouts with real money, but this would not surprise me, especially as the game is free to download! That being said, you can still enjoy the game with your starting attributes (You can also upgrade your speed/agility) and I would definitely recommend it to all Vita players.

Click here for more info!

The second game was one that I played and reviewed in episode 12: Firmware Square of the podcast, and it is a fun little puzzle game. It is called Thomas was Alone, and I had heard a lot about this game before buying it. It is only £2.79 on the Vita store, which is discounted from its original £5.99 price tag. It is a fun game, and fans of puzzle games will be familiar with its basic concept. You start as a red oblong called Thomas, and your goal is to jump over obstacles to get to the end of each level. As you progress through the game you are accompanied by a host of new shapes who all have names, and who all have unique abilities, such as jumping higher, fitting through small tunnels etc. So far I’ve also met Chris the square, and John the long snake like shape. It’s a simple premise, which has been made very creative through a beautiful design, awesome music and fantastic narration from Britain’s very own Danny Wallace. This all put together makes for quite a thought-provoking and fun little game, that makes you question the importance of teamwork. Definitely give it a go if you haven’t already,

Click Here for more info!

The last game I downloaded set me back £3.99 , and is a PS1 classic. Okay I won’t drag this out, it is the original Spyro the Dragon game. Before you say anything, I know i’ve already got Spyro 2 and 3 on my Vita, but here’s an interesting fact… I had never played the original game. Back in my childhood I only ever played 2 and 3, so this was a totally new experience for me! I was surprised at how different and quite raw the game was. It is good, but I would say the other 2 in the series are better!

So its been a busy week for me Vita wise! I am looking forward to Killzone: Mercenary , which is getting very good early reviews through the Beta! and with PS4 remote play just around the corner, it sure is a good time to be a Vita owner!

Till next time, you stay classy

Colin

 

 

Leave a Reply

