This Week in...

My week in 3DS – 2

14th August

As a die hard fan of chiptunes and pixelart, Mutant Mudds is really the only game I’ve played this week. (I mean obviously I’ve put sometime into Animal Crossing but trying to avoid sounding like a broken record). I’ll be giving MM a full review on the next podcast I’m on, but I’m really enjoying it so far.

The reason I love MM,  Animal Crossing and also Gunman Clive, is that they all fit perfectly as to the reason I want a 3DS. I’ll explain: when I had my DS, I didn’t have a Playstation 3 or any of the home consoles, meaning that I was relying on my DS for any and all gaming. However, at the moment due to having a PS3, my 3DS has become much more of a travel companion: it sounds like a stereotype, but I am literally looking for the quick burst of gameplay rather than long wobbley story modes.

This is why Mutant Mudds is so great: it’s got these lovely, neat little levels that take between 2 and 4 minutes each, perfect for that one more go feel. I’m currently away from home (hence my no show on episode 11), and I know that as soon as I get on the train, or have a spare half an hour at the hostel, I can bust out my 3DS and get some quick and easy fun.

I also genuinely believe that it is the game that, so far, best uses the 3DS 3D capabilities, where it feels like part of the gameplay rather than shoehorned in. I’ll be fully exploring Mutant Mudds in next week’s podcast, but it’s safe to say that it will be getting a very good review.

Aside from that, I’ve not had a whole lot of time to play this week. The latest Nintendo Direct announced some great virtual console titles (for example the brilliant Super Marios Bros 2) so I look forward to playing that eventually.

Also – there will be a cool giveaway from the 3DS side of things next Podcast so keep an ear out!

Thanks for reading,

 

Leave a Reply

